Get to know Michelle Schwartz

Michelle Schwartz
Occupation (current or previous):
Special Needs Transition Coordinator
What is your favorite type of music and/or band?
Varied tastes and artists: Blues, Jazz, Bluegrass, Folk, Rock, Celtic and Classical
Where are you from? (Where did you grow up?)
Born and raised in the “Buckeye State” Columbus, Ohio.
What was your religious upbringing, and what impact did that have on you?
I was raised Catholic and learned about grace, gratitude and forgiveness. Also to “do unto others as you would have others do unto you” and “whatsoever you do for the least of my brothers, that you do unto me “. It informed the basic precept of how to treat people. When my husband, who is Jewish, and I, completed mandatory Pre-Cana pre-marital counseling, and neither Priest nor Rabbi would perform our wedding ceremony, we ended up getting married by a Justice of the Peace. It opened the door to consider other religious communities.
What advice would you give to your younger self?
Dad was right. Don’t compare yourself to anyone else. Be the best “you” you can be.
What are your hobbies?
Walking, biking, crosswords, sudoku, and reading. Recently started playing harmonica.
How did you find out about LSUS?
Posting in Wilmette Life
Why do you stay with LSUS?
It’s an intentional way to start the week with inspiring music, interesting speakers and topics, all shared in a community that both challenges and supports each other.
Do you live in the area, and if so, how long?
Resident of Wilmette since 2007.
How long have you been attending LSUS?
Since 2008
If you didn’t choose the career path you embarked, what would you have pursued? Why?
teacher, nurse, or maybe speech therapist—helping profession is what I feel I was meant to do.
What is a fact about you that few people know?
Had a cat named, Asbestos
What is an accomplishment you are most proud of?
My children, Adam and Allison and 25 years of marriage this November

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *