Get to know Peg Cartier

Name:
Peg Cartier
 
Occupation (current or previous):
Accountant
 
What is your favorite type of music and/or band?
Simon and Garfunkel, Beatles, jazz
 
Where are you from? (Where did you grow up?)
Toronto and Bahamas
 
What was your religious upbringing, and what impact did that have on you?
I was baptized Catholic but really just sometimes went to my friends’ Sunday schools and religious camps without absorbing much. For a few years my mother would drop my sister and I at the local UUA youth program. By the time I reached college I was pretty firmly an agnostic.
 
What advice would you give to your younger self?
Be slow to judge and be quick to reach out in love and kindness
 
What are your hobbies?
Reading, volunteering, gardening and trying to downsize all my possessions!
 
How did you find out about LSUS?
Was pushed to provide religious education for my children
 
Why do you stay with LSUS?
I love our Sunday service combination of learning together and singing together and the great coffee hour conversations.
 
Do you live in the area, and if so, how long?
I have lived in Wilmette for 20 years
 
How long have you been attending LSUS?
Approximately 16 years
 
If you didn’t choose the career path you embarked, what would you have pursued? Why?
Economist because I find it fascinating
 
What is a fact about you that few people know?
I served on the Commissioning Committee of the USS Abraham Lincoln
 
What is an accomplishment you are most proud of?
Having the courage to become a (single) mother rather late in life!

One thought on “Get to know Peg Cartier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *